Supreme Court
Article X of the Constitution vests the Supreme Court with judicial power and provides for its operation and jurisdiction. The Supreme Court is divided into a Trial Division and an Appellate Division. Cases are adjudicated by a single justice in the Trial Division and appeals are heard by panels of three different justices in the Appellate Division. The Trial Division has jurisdiction over all matters in law and equity. The Supreme Court also handles disciplinary and other special proceedings. The Supreme Court currently includes a Chief Justice and three Associate Justices. Other judges are appointed to sit on an as-needed basis as Associate Justices Pro Tem or Part-Time Associate Justices.